V-A-S Valley Aviation Society Forum

Welcome to the V-A-S Forum
It is currently 21 Jan 2018, 04:59

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 13 Oct 2014, 13:36 
Offline
V-A-S Member
User avatar

Joined: 07 May 2008, 11:19
Posts: 75
Location: Stoke on Trent
When I was touring the other week I tried to capture a few freqs being used at the shows only to get a 'no room' message. Now, my memory chip is less than 80% full but I do have over 1500 channels stored so does anyone know the limits of this set or do I need to RTFM. buliging_eyes

.

_________________
Tim@TimHargreaves.co.uk


Last edited by TimHargreaves on 13 Oct 2014, 18:06, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 13 Oct 2014, 15:19 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 02 May 2008, 19:34
Posts: 1517
Location: NZ>Aus>Bel>Aus >Bel>Bel>Irl>Fr>Lux>Ger> Bel>Neth
Hi tim,

According to http://www.ukmidlandscanner.co.uk/uni3500.htm there are 2,500 "dynamic" channels available.

_________________
"If it wasn't for bad luck, I'd have no luck at all"

EOS 7D & BG-E7
SX210 IS
Canon 18mm -135mm Lens
Canon 100mm - 400mm L Lens


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 13 Oct 2014, 18:13 
Offline
V-A-S Member
User avatar

Joined: 07 May 2008, 11:19
Posts: 75
Location: Stoke on Trent
reddragon wrote:
Hi tim,

According to http://www.ukmidlandscanner.co.uk/uni3500.htm there are 2,500 "dynamic" channels available.


That is what it says in the specs on page 83 in the manual but I don't think that I have that many stored yet. I'll fetch the scanner out of the van and check it.

.

_________________
Tim@TimHargreaves.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 13 Oct 2014, 21:17 
Offline
V-A-S Member
User avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2009, 14:40
Posts: 612
Location: Chelford, Cheshire
Tim
I understand that there's limit of around 1600 channels if you're using Alpha tags. Of course that wouldn't explain things if you're not using Alpha tags.
Doesn't say this in the manual but there's a better interpretation of the manual here.

http://marksscanners.com/3500/3500.shtml#memory

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 14 Oct 2014, 15:27 
Offline
V-A-S Member
User avatar

Joined: 07 May 2008, 11:19
Posts: 75
Location: Stoke on Trent
mikegrundy wrote:
Tim
I understand that there's limit of around 1600 channels if you're using Alpha tags.
Mike

Yep, that must be it of course as most of my channels are tagged. I wouldn't have a clue what 1500 different six digit numbers related to. Thanks for that Mike, I'm pretty sure that info's not in the Uniden manual. :banging_head_red.

.

_________________
Tim@TimHargreaves.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2014, 15:09 
Offline
V-A-S Member
User avatar

Joined: 07 May 2008, 11:19
Posts: 75
Location: Stoke on Trent
Just spent a nappy hour with my pencil and counted up the freqs in my 3500XLT. It appears that I have 9 systems that house 120 groups with a total of 2549 frequencies. So, the limit of tagged freqs is considerably more than 1600 and the manuals 2500 total would appear to be an under estimate too. I still have some empty groups so I'll keep typing and let you know when I hit the buffers.

UPDATE - Well,hit the buffers I did and not very long after. My total of 2549 was about it, certainly after loading only a few more the pc would not complete a transfer to the scanner so 2500 is a good limit to stick to. As for me I have now removed the foreign airfields from my scanner - I can always load them back in for my trips abroad.
.

_________________
Tim@TimHargreaves.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group